The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Washington and Lee University    
  Jan 20, 2018
2017-2018 University Catalog archived

Politics (POL)

HONORS: An Honors Program in politics is offered for qualified students. Politics majors who have at least a 3.500 grade-point average in the major and at least a 3.300 cumulative grade-point average at the end of their junior year qualify to write an honors thesis. Prospective honors candidates should contact the department head and potential thesis advisers in the fall of their junior year.

Department Head: Lucas E. Morel


First date is the year in which the faculty member began regular faculty service at the University. Second date is the year of appointment to the present rank. 

Brian Alexander, Ph.D.—(2017)-2017
Assistant Professor of Politics
Ph.D., George Mason University

Joseph M. Cantey Jr., Ph.D.—(2014)-2014
Assistant Professor of Politics
Ph.D., Duke University

William F. Connelly Jr. Ph.D.—(1986)-1996
John K. Boardman Professor of Politics
Ph.D., University of Virginia 

J. Tyler Dickovick, Ph.D.—(2004)-2016
Professor of Politics
Ph.D., Princeton University

Stuart J. Gray, Ph.D.—(2015)-2015
Assistant Professor of Politics
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara

Rebecca C. Harris, Ph.D.—(2005)-2011
Associate Professor of Politics
Ph.D., University of Illinois

Robin Le Blanc, Ph.D.—(1998)-2008
Professor of Politics
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma

Lucas E. Morel, Ph.D.—(1999)-2009
Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics and Politics
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate School

Mark E. Rush, Ph.D.—(1990)-2002
The Stanley D. and Nikki Waxberg Professor of Politics
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Robert A. Strong, Ph.D.—(1989)-1992
William Lyne Wilson Professor of Politics
Ph.D., University of Virginia